EANM Marie Curie Award


For outstanding scientific work presented at the 32nd Annual Congress of the European Association of Nuclear Medicine the Marie Curie Fund of the EANM bestowed the Marie Curie Award to

H. R. J. Vanhaute1, J. Ceccarini2, L. Michiels3, S. Sunaert4, R. Lemmens3, L. Emsell4, M. Vandenbulcke5, K. Van Laere2;

1Nuclear Medicine and molecular imaging, Department of Geriatric Psychiatry, University Hospitals Leuven; department of imaging and pathology, Catholic University Leuven, Leuven, BELGIUM,

2Nuclear Medicine and molecular imaging, University Hospitals Leuven; department of imaging and pathology, Catholic University Leuven, Leuven, BELGIUM,

3Department of Neurology, University Hospitals Leuven; Laboratory for neurobiology, Catholic University Leuven; Center for Brain and disease research, VIB-KU Leuven, Leuven, BELGIUM,

4Department of Imaging and pathology, Translational MRI;
Catholic University Leuven, Leuven, BELGIUM, 5Department of Geriatric Psychiatry,
University Hospitals Leuven, Leuven, BELGIUM.


Presentation Title
Changes in synaptic density in relation to tau deposition in prodromal
Alzheimer’s disease: a dual protocol PET-MR study

Who can apply?

  • Candidates must have their regular residence in Europe.
  • At least one of the authors must be a member of the EANM.
  • Only work which has been done in Europe can be considered.
  • The submitted paper must not have been published before the last EANM Congress; possible candidates are invited by the Congress Chair to provide testimony for this.
  • A certificate must be presented, showing that legal requirements (including ethical and radiation protection requirements) were met when performing the study.
  • The Award should be given to the author of the work which is, in terms of scientific quality, the best contribution at the annual EANM Congress.

The Award

  • Presenting their research during the Award Ceremony.
  • Marie Curie Medal and diploma handed over on stage during Award Ceremony by the EANM President
  • Award of € 5,000.-, will be transferred after the Congress.
  • One complimentary (& transferable) registration for the EANM Focus Meeting 3.

Application and Procedure

From the abstracts submitted for the EANM Congress, the 20 with the highest ratings are selected. Consequently, the authors are notified by the Congress Chair that their work is being considered for the Marie Curie Award. (The presenting authors will serve as the contact for all related communication.)

The authors are invited to send a complete digital manuscript of the paper (English language only), with figures and references within 4 weeks to the EANM Executive Office. Deadline for sending is approx. end of September. Later in the process, the authors will also be asked to send a short PowerPoint presentation (English language only) to the EANM Executive Office. Deadline for sending is approx. 1 week prior the Congress. The presentation of the winner will be delivered during the Award Ceremony.

Three members of the Scientific Committee (1 nuclear medicine M.D., 1 physicist who is working in Nuclear Medicine, and 1 member with special expertise in radiopharmacy/. radiochemistry) are nominated by the Congress Chair as Marie Curie Jury. The Jury has the task of classifying the submitted papers according to their scientific and experimental value and to listen to the relevant oral presentation.

On the last day of the EANM Congress, the decision concerning the allocation of the award is made by the Marie Curie Jury and the Congress Chair. The Award Winner is invited to present his paper with a 5′ min Oral Presentation during the Award Ceremony of the EANM Congress (Wednesday).

The Award is bestowed during the Award Ceremony of the EANM Congress by the EANM President. The decision is not open to appeal or legal action.